top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

Books I Love

I know it's the Christmas season but anytime it's cold and trees are bare, I can't help but dream of flowers (and read about them). So today I am going to share two books that I adore that incorporates flowers and could read over and over again. These two books would make great Christmas gifts for any classic woman, or a nice treat for yourself after a long day's work. Then, as a bonus, I will include a book that would be great to give to a father, brother, husband, boyfriend, etc.

1. A Victorian Flower Dictionary: The Language of Flowers Companion

By: Mandy Kirkby, Vanessa Diffenbaugh

“A flower is not a flower alone; a thousand thoughts invest it.”

This book is a companion to the novel "Language of Flowers" and though the novel was captivating on it's own, it's the flower dictionary that truly caught my attention. Within the book there are drawings, definitions, poems, and historical descriptions of many types of flowers. Below are two examples:

"A Victorian Dictionary" is a lovely book that inspires me to plan my garden ahead of time, and reminds me to be intentional in what flowers I put into a bouquet. For it's in those small thoughts and intentional givings that make the most impact on those we hope to gift with flowers.

2. The Garden of Letters

By: Alyson Richman

"Set against the rich backdrop of World War II Italy,Garden of Letters captures the hope, suspense, and romance of an uncertain era, in an epic intertwining story of first love, great tragedy, and spectacular bravery." Goodreads.com

The first book I ever read by Alyson Richman was actually the novel "The Lost Wife". Richman's writing is almost poetic with her attention to details and the ability to connect with the emotions of the reader. As soon as I finished "The Lost Wife" I was a fan of Mrs. Richman. I am an avid reader of Historical-Fiction and her books always drew me into wanting to read more. Which is why now I have read all of her novels. "The Garden of Letters"will leave you remembering its characters and how they touched your life -- it reminded me to value family,love, and having the courage to prevail through challenging times.

3. 41: A Portrait of My Father

By: President George W. Bush

I read this book this summer and was really moved by President George W. Bush's stories and memories he shared about his father. In this book we are introduced to the real-life story behind who President George H.W. Bush is and how he came to be our 41st President.

I think what makes this biography most moving, was seeing how Bush Sr. truly valued his family and faith and his ability to make people around him feel important.

Bush Sr. had a tough woman by his side along the way--moments when Barbara Bush enters the story will have you chuckling and/or crying. My favorite quote about their relationship was remembered and valued by their son and opened my eyes to the sacrifices we make for those we love :

'"Both of us have always been willing to go three-quarters of the way,' she [Barbara Bush] said. She meant that each of them was more committed to their marriage than they were to themselves" page 34.

Overall, every great man aims to have his legacy remembered and valued by whom he surrounds himself with--especially his children. This book would make a great read and is a testament that every family has its challenges but its staying and relying on each other that keeps the family strong. {A great Christmas gift for those men we value}.

Please contact me if you have any questions on these books! Or if there are any books you love about gardening--please share.


bottom of page