top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

Antique Shopping & Screen Porch Decorating

May is not only the month of Mother's Day, but it's also the month of my Mother's birthday. This year I wanted to do something a little more special! (Plus it gave me a reason to do some antique shopping).

The screen in porch is one of our favorite places to sit and talk while having a glass of tea or sometimes a glass of wine. Though it was already put well together, I wanted to surprise my mom with some simple updates. I can't wait for you to see the before and after

The Before

Before, the porch was filthy. It was in desperate need of a spring cleaning. Furthermore, it seemed bare, almost like furniture was just filling the space. Granted, we hadn't done our annual re-decorating of the porch, but to put it plainly, the porch needed an upgrade! As a gift, I decided to a) clean the porch top to bottom, b) buy my Mom an antique butler's table/potting station, c) add some new photos to the porch, and d) add some color and texture with some potted plants. To get this all done, I needed my Mom out of town! Luckily, she and my Dad went away for a weekend, so I got down to business!

Time for Antique Shopping

When looking for a butler's table/potting station, I was looking for a piece that wasn't wider than 17-18 inches and was tall enough to hold food and or be the perfect height to pot some plants. The task was hard because making decisions is not easy for me :-)

Here are the options I came across....

After much thought and a few FaceTime phone calls, I decided to go with the white chest! It had plenty of storage and was the perfect size and height!

The After....

At the furniture store, I was able to buy the white chest and two photos (for a pretty cheap price too!) One photo was of a farm and the other was of a family picking flowers. They seemed to fit perfectly with the theme of the porch! Last, to add some texture and color to the porch, I decided to plant red, pink, white, and blue flowers.

So after cleaning the porch all day Saturday, I had Sunday to get the porch decorated and ready to surprise my Mom! The countdown was on!

By the time I was done, I was ready for my Mom to get home and see her surprise. I loved every minute preparing for this surprise, and I hope my Mom loved it as much as I did by the end.


bottom of page