top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

Antique Photos: A Simple Update

You may have remembered back in December I had gone on my antique shopping extravaganza and had found two photos I wanted to revamp and gift. My sister in law, Amanda, and cousin, Maggie, are both expecting babies this summer, and as soon as I saw these pictures at the antique store, I knew I had to purchase and fix them up!

Both of these women were born to be Mothers--I can't wait to meet their precious babies!

Back to the project--here are the two photos in their original form:

This photo already had a beautiful photo mat--the frame just needed and update.

I loved this picture--it reminded me of Amanda and her little boy, but this photo needed a photo mat and frame update.

Re-Do Process

When I had originally bought the pictures, I had intentions of sanding the frames down, re-staining, and maybe buying one frame mat. The frames I found though, were not in good enough shape to be re-done. Therefore, I decided to go to Michael's and look at their picture mat and frame options.

I ended up finding two picture frames and a great replacement mat for that pink and green mat:

Next: Since the antique pictures were in older frames, I had to take out the staples to get to the pictures.

Once I finished getting the pictures out, I transferred them into the new frames.

Overall this was an easy project, but I really enjoyed being able to transfer something classic and adding some "modern" touches to it. Plus these aren't your generic pictures you can find just anywhere--which made them a special gift! I would do this again for my own decorating purposes, too.


bottom of page