top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

Weekly Virtue: Random Act of Kindness


I believe I am week behind in my virtues (shocker). So I am putting this week's virtue on you! It is up to you to do a random act of kindness (RAK) this week. I want you to consciously think of others and think of something that will bring a smile to another's face. This does not need to be something large or an extravagant gesture. It is simple yet meaningful. I want you to put thought into it as if you were on the receiving end of your own RAK, how would it make you feel?

The Golden Rule in Matthew 7:12 states, “Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you. This is the essence of all that is taught in the law and the prophets."

I also want you to reflect on how it makes you feel to do something for another. Even better doing something for someone who does not know you were the giver. I will give you a few very simple examples but there is no limit to your RAK. Sometimes I think the lack of gratitude makes the gesture even more special. Not that the person is ungrateful, but the love that they feel from the unknown. Maybe even attach a prayer to your RAK. We can all use extra prayers.

Examples: Write a letter to someone who inspires you. Without signing it!

Dear _______, I just want you to know that I think your strong faith is inspiriting and gives me hope that I too can have a faith that carries my family." Sent with love (unsigned)

Dear _____, I know life is always a struggle but you are doing an amazing job! Treat yourself to a coffee. Sent with love (unsigned with a small gift card)

Dear _____, I am spending my week saying extra prayers for you. For no other reason than so you can feel Gods warmth and love and know that you're being prayed for. (unsigned)

Pay for the person behind you at the drive up window and say a prayer for them. You do not know what their situation may be. Good or bad.

Bake cookies and leave in someone's mailbox.

Light a candle at church for someone.

Here is a link to many many other possibilities.

https://www.randomactsofkindness.org/kindness-ideas

The possibilities are endless! But for this week, I want you to think of others more than we think of ourselves. I hope your weeks is filled with so much love and kindness is becomes contagious!

Sending my love!


bottom of page