top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

A Book Challenge & A Recipe


A Book Challenge

As Valentines Day approaches, a lot of us plan ways we can show those we treasure how much we love them--whether it be our husband, boyfriend, best friend, children, grandchildren, parents or whoever, we know how blessed we are to have people that love and support us. Though it is important to remind those we love how much we appreciate them, I want to challenge you to remember to love yourself. I am the first to admit that I will beat myself down over the silliest of things -- if only I was smarter, if only I was more graceful, if only, if only... what good does this do for me or even those around me?

Which leads me to a challenge I want to do with all of you. I came across the book "Uninvited" (pictured above) the other day, and after reading the Goodreads summary of the book, I knew it would be worth reading and sharing with ya'll.

I want to challenge all of you to pick up a copy at your library, Barnes & Noble, audiobook, or wherever you find books, and read this for you. To better yourself. To find inner peace. All through words from God.

Each week I will post questions that we can discuss with one another, or that you can answer by yourself in notes. In college I was always the girl taking notes in her books because it allowed me to fully engage in what I was reading. Like a book club, I will post what pages to read each Sunday (starting next Sunday, March 18th--giving ya'll a week to get the book).

"For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind."

-2 Timothy 1:7

 

...And a Recipe

This recipe is rich but delicious! If any of ya'll like cookie dough--this is a recipe for you. As you may have guessed, I found it on Pinterest :-) The recipe comes from: http://www.thereciperebel.com/

No Bake Cookie Cheese Cake

(side note, I didn't mix the cheesecake long enough, so it does look a little chunkier than it should)

Crust

  • 3 tablespoons melted butter

  • 1 300g bag chocolate sandwich cookies (about 25 cookies)

Cookie Dough

  • 5 tablespoons softened butter

  • ¾ cup brown sugar

  • ½ teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

  • 3-4 tablespoons milk

  • 1½ cups all-purpose flour

  • ½ cup mini chocolate chips

Cheesecake

  • 3 (8oz) packages cream cheese

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream (35% cream)

  • 1 cup powdered sugar

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Crust

  1. Combine melted butter and cookies in a food processor and process until smooth and a ball forms.

  2. Press into a 9" Springform pan (or a pie plate or square pan works just fine, too!).

Cookie Dough

  1. In a medium bowl, stir together softened butter and sugar with a spoon. Add salt, vanilla, milk, and flour and stir until a dough forms, adding a little more milk if needed. Stir in chocolate chips.

  2. Set in the refrigerator to chill.

Cheesecake

  1. In a large bowl, beat together cream cheese, cream, sugar, and vanilla until completely smooth and fluffy -- about 5 minutes on high speed.

  2. Divide the cookie dough in thirds. Roll 1 third into a circle the size of your pan and lay on top of your crust (I do this between 2 sheets of wax paper and it works perfectly!). Roll remaining ⅔ into small balls. Stir half of the cookie dough balls into the cheesecake, and set the remaining in the fridge for garnish.

  3. Top with cheesecake mixture and set in the refrigerator to chill until set, at least 4 hours.

  4. Garnish cheesecake with whipped cream if desired and extra cookie dough balls. Serve and store leftovers in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.

Notes

*Consuming raw flour is not recommended by the FDA. That being said, I'm going to do it anyway 😉 You choose for yourself.


bottom of page