top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

Weekly Virtue: Sacrifice


Happy Ash Wednesday!

Today is the first day of Lent. Lent is the 40 days leading up to Easter.

It is a part of many religions to sacrifice something during lent. Sacrifice is defined as giving up of one's own benefit. I did a little Google search to see what were some of the most sacrificed items last year during lent. Here are a few from last year:

Chocolate, swearing, soda, alcohol, social media, fast food, coffee, sweets

There is no "right" or "wrong" sacrifice. And it does not matter if your sacrifice is something you eat, or something you do. It does not have to be something you give up, but can be something you do extra. You could give up swearing, or go to church an extra day a week. You could give up everything but water or increase your prayer life. You could eliminate social networking or invest in your marriage through weekly date nights. The possibilities are endless.

I challenge everyone to really think about their sacrifice this year. And I challenge you to choose something that benefits someone else more than yourself. If you choose to give up chocolate, I challenge you to say a prayer every time you reach for a piece, or are tempted. If you give up social media, spend that time with your children or in a devotional book. If you give up Starbucks for yourself, pick up a Starbucks for someone else.

I have chosen this year to be more engaged. I have found that my mind is spinning with so many things that are on my plate daily, that I haven't been giving myself fully to others. When my husband is talking to me about his day, I am actually making my grocery list in my head. When my daughter is asking me questions about her homework, I am trying to figure out what to make for supper. When I am talking to my friend from Minnesota, I am paying bills or writing checks. The world moves too fast and sometimes multitasking is mandatory, and I do not think there is anything wrong with that. But I also think there needs to be a balance. I need to engage myself in my time with others. I need to be more aware. This is true of church too. Being in the pew is not enough for me, but so often it is all I give. I walk out of church not really sure what the priest has said. Part of this is the chaos in my pew, but part of this too is not being fully aware. Life is moving too quickly for me to not pay attention to the things that are most important. The time I have with those in my life is something I need to take less for granted.

May you use this time leading up to Easter to the most benefit! For it is during Lent that the greatest sacrifice is made! Jesus giving up Himself, His life, for us. There is no greater sacrifice, so think of the small things we can do to show Jesus our love for him.


bottom of page