top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

A New Favorite

First I need to apologize for a delay in posts! Long story short -- February flew by! I didn't even get a chance to interview a Classic Woman for February. March will just have to be blessed with two inspirational women:-) Also, regarding the book "Uninvited", I had gone to Barnes and Noble and was told it came with videos that I obviously wouldn't be able to share with you. So if you bought the book I sincerely apologize -- I will do better research next time. To keep you inspired in learning to LOVE YOURSELF through God, I will attach a book at the end that truly made me feel closer to God. It's by a woman I have admired since I was a little girl, and who actually just became a Saint in the Catholic Church - Mother Teresa.

Before I get to the book, I want to share with you, a new cookie recipe that has me eating cookies like I'm starving to death...

Confetti Cake Batter Cookies

They are VERY easy to make and have a sweet taste that will have you coming back for more! I got the recipe online and have attached the URL right here for you to check it out! I will copy the recipe directly below, but you can find more information on the website by the Baker, Sally herself. Her website has a vast number of recipes that I am eager to try!

Ingredients:
  • 1 box (18.25 oz) vanilla/white cake mix, such as Duncan Hines

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 2 large eggs

  • 1/3 cup vegetable/canola oil or melted coconut oil

  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 1 cup sprinkles

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line large baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone baking mat. Set aside.

  2. In a large bowl, mix together the cake mix and baking powder. Set aside. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the eggs, oil, and vanilla by hand. Add the egg mixture to the cake mixture and stir to form a dough- stir vigorously until all of the pockets of dry cake mix are gone. Gently mix in the sprinkles - you do not want to dye the cookie dough by overstirring the sprinkles.

**I would suggest scooping out the dough with a metal ice scream scoop or spoon. The dough is very sticky.

  1. Drop rounded 1-inch balls of dough onto prepared baking sheet. Bake for 9 minutes - do not let the cookies get brown. Allow to cool on baking sheet for 3 minutes; they will be very soft at first. As they cool, the tops will settle down so you will not have to press the cookies down yourself. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container, for up to one week. Cookies freeze well, up to 2-3 months.

Again I LOVE these cookies -- especially since I gave up chocolate for Lent. This still gives me the change to indulge in some cookies :-) And they are also a favorite of Alex's and my family.

Win - win!

 

Mother Teresa - No Greater Love

Last, I want to share with you a book I bought a long time ago, that still holds a special place in my heart. It reminds me of God's words, His promise, and His unconditional love. To me, what struck me the most about Mother Teresa was that even though she was a faithful servant of God and truly a woman of Grace, she too, often felt out of God's light, or that sometimes He "wasn't there". Even more, though she sometimes felt out of His light, she still gave and worked tirelessly to help others without giving up hope and faith in Him.

Mother Teresa's wisdom from this book, helped me when I was a growing teenager and still helps me to this day. I would love for y'all to read this and be empowered. To regain your strength in God's presence and in His silence, through the wisdom of Mother Teresa.

I hope to post more this week. Some music, recipes, and hopefully an Inspirational Classic Woman! Please leave a comment below or reach out to me anytime. I enjoy hearing from ya'll and hearing your ideas!


bottom of page