top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

A French Getaway


Though I haven't been to France since April 2000 (wow 17 years!), I still enjoy reading and learning about French culture. So today I thought I'd share some French inspired things: a blog, music, book, and cookbook that I really enjoy. Since flying to France isn't cheap -- you can have your own French getaway at home.

Sharon Santoni

My French Country Home

A Blog

I stumbled upon this blog while listening to a podcast that was interviewing Sharon Santoni. As soon as the podcast was over, I had to take a look at this blog, and I wasn't let down!

What I enjoy most about this blog is her love for gardening and learning about French design and esthetic. It's simply eloquent and full of simple yet purposeful design. Furthermore, Sharon interviews her "Stylish French Girlfriends" -- most of whom are artistic and creative in their own right. For example you learn about her friend Marie-Laure who is an antique dealer at the Paris Flea Market and Celine who is a fellow French blogger, whom Mrs. Santoni finds inspiration from. Though some of their design and preferences defer from mine, it's nice to "get away" and look at diverse styles.

Check it out!

Django Reinhardt

French Guitarist

When I'm cooking or relaxing in a bubble bath, I tend to play instrumental music - whether it be bluegrass or classical. Not having any words blaring into my ears grants me the peace to enjoy these simple pleasures in life. I found Django Reinhardt through Spotify and have been listening to him since -- even buying the two songs on iTunes that I'm sharing below.

La Mer (Beyond the Sea) - Django Reinhardt

My Serenade - Django Reinhardt

French Country Cooking and The Velvet Hours

A Cookbook and Novel

A Cookbook

"French Country Cooking" by Mimi Thorisson was a Christmas Gift from my parents. (I am trying to branch out my cooking taste and abilities). What I enjoy about the author and cook, was that she took an old French Chateau/Hotel and renovated it into her home and a restaurant. It's pretty neat to read the history behind their home and how Thorisson and her husband transformed this old hotel into it's former glory and more. Here are a few photos from the cookbook:

A Novel

Another novel by one of my favorite author's Alyson Richman -- I just started on "The Velvet Hours", but thought I'd share it with you. It's based off of a true story that just appeared in the news in the last few years... below is the Goodreads summary:

"As Paris teeters on the edge of the German occupation, a young French woman closes the door to her late grandmother’s treasure-filled apartment, unsure if she’ll ever return. An elusive courtesan, Marthe de Florian cultivated a life of art and beauty, casting out all recollections of her impoverished childhood in the dark alleys of Montmartre. With Europe on the brink of war, she shares her story with her granddaughter Solange Beaugiron, using her prized possessions to reveal her innermost secrets. Most striking of all are a beautiful string of pearls and a magnificent portrait of Marthe painted by the Italian artist Giovanni Boldini. As Marthe’s tale unfolds, like velvet itself, stitched with its own shadow and light, it helps to guide Solange on her own path. Inspired by the true account of an abandoned Parisian apartment, Alyson Richman brings to life Solange, the young woman forced to leave her fabled grandmother’s legacy behind to save all that she loved."

I hope you enjoyed this French inspired Blog Post -- please leave any comments or questions below.


bottom of page