top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

A Flower Journal

Each spring and summer season we are blessed with old flowers blooming once again, the task of ridding of those that didn't return, and planting new. I have found in time, that I cannot remember each flower that I planted or which ones I liked or didn't like; thus began a challenging memory game, that I can never seem to win.

Since there are so many flowers & plants that I've come to like (and some I haven't taken much of a liking to), I thought it would be great to start a Flower Journal of all that is planted each year along with some notes. I also kept all of the plants' tags, so that I could paste the photo into the journal. Nothing brings your memory back like a picture -- I also tried to write where it was planted so that I could go find it!

Thought I'd share this idea with you all, in case you have a similar "problem" :-)

Enjoy!

I keep all of the tags in a ziplock bag throughout the year - so that I can find them!

Using scissors and double sided tape - the job is pretty easy. Of course once taped down, I can't read the back, so I write down anything I find important (like size, shade/sunlight needs, water amount needed, time of year to plant, etc).

Hopefully I will have a garden and journal full in years to come, and luckily I will not have to use my memory to remember.

 

To end today's post, I thought I'd share a book I really enjoyed reading a few years ago - and it of course has "Garden" in the title! As you'll see I gave it a full 5 stars, so I thought it was pretty good :-) The following is a summary from Goodreads.com.

Happy planting & happy reading!


bottom of page