top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

What I'm Currently Loving

I'm always wanting to hear what others are reading and enjoying in their leisure time, so I thought I'd share what books, cookbooks, magazine, and movie I'm currently loving! Hope you can share too what you are enjoy; for I'm always looking to learn and read more!

 

Books

First, "The Hummingbirds' Daughter" - this is now one of my favorites. I often find myself thinking about parts that I read, and when that happens, I know I've read a great book. You will be laughing, crying, and even thinking about your own Faith throughout the book. Here is the GoodRead's Summary:

The Hummingbirds' Daughter

by Luis Alberto Urrea (Goodreads Author)

4.16 · Rating details · 8,500 Ratings · 1,281 Reviews

"The prizewinning writer Luis Alberto Urrea's long-awaited novel is an epic mystical drama of a young woman's sudden sainthood in late 19th-century Mexico.It is 1889, and civil war is brewing in Mexico. A 16-year-old girl, Teresita, illegitimate but beloved daughter of the wealthy and powerful rancher Don Tomas Urrea, wakes from the strangest dream--a dream that she has died. Only it was not a dream. This passionate and rebellious young woman has arisen from death with a power to heal--but it will take all her faith to endure the trials that await her and her family now that she has become the Saint of Cabora. The Hummingbird's Daughter is a vast, hugely satisfying novel of love and loss, joy and pain. Two decades in the writing, this is the masterpiece that Luis Alberto Urrea has been building up to."

The book I am currently reading is "Lonesome Dove". I heard about his book on the Podcast "What Should I Read Next". I can't wait to get further into the book and let you all know what I think! Here is the GoodRead's Summary:

Lonesome Dove

by Larry McMurtry

4.47 · Rating details · 119,921 Ratings · 5,547 Reviews

"A love story, an adventure, and an epic of the frontier, Larry McMurtry’s Pulitzer Prize— winning classic, Lonesome Dove, the third book in the Lonesome Dove tetralogy, is the grandest novel ever written about the last defiant wilderness of America. Journey to the dusty little Texas town of Lonesome Dove and meet an unforgettable assortment of heroes and outlaws, ladies of the night and ladies, Indians and settlers. Richly authentic, beautifully written, always dramatic, Lonesome Dove is a book to make us laugh, weep, dream, and remember."

 

Cookbooks & Lifestyle

Of course, I love my seasonal Magnolia Magazine. Joanne & Chip's recipes, stories, and lifestyle editorials are always fun to read and learn from! But the two I want to share with you are two cookbooks I received for Christmas from my Sister!

"Dining with the Washingtons" - as most of you probably know, I love American History and was so excited when I received this cookbook. I can't wait to dive in and learn more about Early American Recipes and Hosting Traditions.

"The Pioneer Woman Cooks - Come and Get It!" - Anything the Pioneer Woman comes up with, I adore. Her recipes are always explained to a T and easy to follow. My sister-in-law and I are already planning which recipes we are going to make first - I'm thinking the"Teriyaki Salmon and Kale Sheet Pan Supper." YUM!

 

Movie

I may not want to admit to this, but I just recently saw "Meet Me in St. Louis" for the first time. Though I am a little late in the game, this is one of my favorite movies now - closely behind "Gone With The Wind". The dancing, singing, family, and love story will have you falling in love too!


bottom of page