top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

Words to live by

"Life's most persistent and urgent question is, what are you doing for others?"

- Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Words are a very powerful thing. A great compliment can lift you up and put you in great spirits for the day. A fight can be filled with hurtful words that can tear you down and leave you feeling empty. The old childhood rhyme - sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me - is a lie. Words can leave you feeling motivated, driven, inspired or moved. They can leave you feeling hurt, hollow, wounded, or worried. Great leaders have spoken words that have left their place in history, said things that have been repeated years later and will be spoken years to come.

My grandpa, who is one of the most amazing people I will ever know, had so many sayings that make me smile. So many sayings that when you hear those words you know exactly who said them.

My mother has several sayings that she always said when we were growing up, that drove me crazy, that I swore I would never say that I hear myself saying to my own children.

Words have meaning and carry strong meaning. So choose your words wisely.

We have asked some of our favorite women what are words that have spoken to them. Some of them have them hanging in different places in their homes. Here are the words they have said. We hope these words leave you feeling…. something great.

God hath not promised skies always blue.

I believe in bring strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and I believe in miracles ~Audrey Hepburn

Be who God meant you to be and you will set the world on fire. ~St. Catherine of Siena

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord ~Joshua 24:15

I’ve learned as time passes, all the things that you’re afraid of will come and they will go, and you’ll be alright ~Stevie Nicks

What you make others feel about themselves says a lot about you

Do small things with great love ~Mother Teresa

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

People who love to eat are always the best people ~Julia Child

“Hands to Work, Hearts to God ~from the Shakers

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” ~The Golden Rule

If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. ~Thumper from Bambi

Do not worry. Therefore, do not be anxious for tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious itself. Let the day’s own trouble be sufficient for the day. ~Matthew 6:25-34

The gate of heaven is very low; only the humble can enter it. ~St. Elizabeth Ann Seton

The single greatest gift you can give to a mother is to say: You’re doing a good job.

Therefore I tell you, do not anxious about your life, what you shall eat, nor about your body, what you should put on. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing. ~Luke 12:22-31

Everything can be solved with hot soapy water.

It’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

The Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Be who you are and be that well.

Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself. ~Leo Tolstoy

To be tempted is a sign that the soul is very pleasing to the Lord. ~St. Padre Pio

I believe in the sun even when it is not shining, I believe in love even when I can’t feel it. I believe in God even when He is silent. ~ Written on a wall during the holocaust

The gate of heaven is very low; only the humble can enter it. ~St. Elizabeth Ann Seton

May you always do for others and let others do for you ~ Bob Dylan

We hope these words leave you with a smile. What are some of your favorite sayings or words to live by? Please share in the comments below. We would love to hear them!


bottom of page