top of page
Hi There
This blog and website was created in memory of Katherine Joanne House. To remind and motivate us to live a life that is simple by filling it with love, hard work, and kindness. The Spirit of a Classic American Woman, is one who puts Faith and Family above all else. We are not perfect, but we work  hard and we count our blessings.
More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the Updates to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags

Chicken Pot Pie

Any of you who have cooked with me before know I'm not much of a recipe follower. I like to add and/or change ingredients in recipes to make it more fitting for my taste and my family's taste. I chose to share this Chicken Pot Pie recipe for that reason! If you don't have all the veggies or don't like them all, it's not a big deal! You can substitute others in as well as add more or less of what you prefer. For example, if you don't have peas throw in some green beans and it's just as good. Also, I am not a great pastry chef like my husband's family in Indiana, so I just opt for a store bought crust but I know it would be even more delicious with one of their homemade pie crusts to top! I usually serve this with a green salad on the side.

Ingredients

2-3 shredded chicken breasts or shredded rotisserie chicken

3 tablespoons butter

2 stalks celery

4 carrots

half an onion

potato

1/4 cup flour (heaping)

2 1/2 cups chicken broth

frozen peas

heavy cream

salt

pepper

turmeric (really just for color)

pie crust

egg

Directions

-Dice the vegetables and melt butter in large pot.

-Add the onion, carrots and celery to melted butter and saute until the veggies begin to get tender. My family doesn't like crunch in our pot pie so I cook mine about 10 minutes over medium heat. Add potatoes last so they don't get too mushy and cook a couple more minutes, stirring occasionally.

-Add chicken and stir into vegetables. Sprinkle flour over chicken and vegetables and cook a couple of minutes, stirring occasionally, to combine the ingredients.

-Slowly add the chicken broth to the pot and stir. The flour will thicken the broth as it cooks.

-As it begins to thicken, add salt and pepper to taste. If you like, add a little turmeric and it will make it a rich "yellow-ish" color.

-If you want thicker "sauce" you can thicken with cornstarch or a flour and water mixture. I usually end up doing this so it will set nicely after its baked.

-After making the filling your desired thickness, add frozen peas and some heavy cream. I usually just eyeball the cream because that's how I normally cook, but I'd say around 1/4 cup would be enough.

-Stir all ingredients together and remove from heat so it can slightly cool.

-Pour filling into pie pan and cover with pie crust.

-Top crust with an egg wash and cut slits to vent.

-Bake at 375 degrees until the top is brown and the filling is bubbly.

Let cool and enjoy!


bottom of page